Red and White Bed Quilt

I belong to several local guilds. I just joined a new one called Big Red Quilters Guild in Holland, Michigan a approximately three months ago. The day I joined they were talking about a red and white quilt challenge. I decided I was going to not only do one quilt, but two quilts for the challenge! One in the traditional bed quilt category and one in the small modern wall quilt category.

Today I just finished the quilting on my bed quilt. I am not happy with it, but you can’t get better unless you do it. To top it off, near the end of finishing the borders, for some reason my timing is off on the long arm and it kept breaking my thread. I need to fix it before starting the next quilt. Time to watch the timing video again.

Onto the quilt details: Size: I forget exactly, but it is approximately 95×70 inches. Fabrics: These are Miss Scarlet by Minick & Simpson through Moda. I LOVE THEM!!!! I had difficulty starting this quilt because I didn’t realize that quilt shops had not received the fabric prior to me falling in love with them. On the bright side I am still getting it done in time. Darn blogs making me fall in love with fabrics before they are released to the quilt shops. Pattern: I started with the Double Irish Chain by Quilt in a Day, but finished the border differently than the pattern suggests. Quilting: I used some ideas I got off of Pintrest, but the pattern is my own. It is all free-motion and the first time I have free-motioned circles on the long arm. (I kept fighting my long arm and it made me sad).

BACK: I am thinking of using the pieces I cut off from the back as my binding. I think it would be different and fun.

IMG_20160522_201044

FRONT:

IMG_20160522_2013231-IMG_20160522_192707002

I need to apply the binding and the label and I’m done. This was fun and I’m glad I got to learn more and better my long arming skills.

 

Leave a Reply

