Weekend Catchup – A Little of This, A Little of That

This weekend I got a lot accomplished. I took my husband for Lasik eye surgery on Friday morning so I had the rest of the day to quilt. We also had nothing else planned for this weekend (thank goodness). The next two weekends we will have company. Summers fly by so quickly!

So this weekend I worked on 3 projects. The first was a few of the Splendid Sampler blocks. I am catching up on my longarm quilting so I will be able to catch up on my splendid sampler blocks. I finish the following blocks this weekend.

These blocks just needed to appliqued. I finished them by machine appliqueing. I used the raw edge method.

IMG_20160619_210039

Block 14: Flying High

IMG_20160619_205741

Bonus Block: Just For You

IMG_20160619_212438

Bonus Block: Easter

The next couple of blocks I picked out the fabrics and pieced them together.

IMG_20160619_205507

Block 35: The Wishful Garden

IMG_20160619_205224

Block 34: Lemonade

Then I worked on my La Passacaglia rosette. I was piecing it during my husband’s 3 hour surgery visit. I got the next layer on and it is becoming real. I’m starting to put together the stars for the next ring, now.

IMG_20160619_204602

Last, but not least, I finished my red and white wall quilt. I called it Freedom because when I look at it I feel peaceful and relaxed and well, free. The pattern is of my own design. The tree is made of 1/2″ finished half square triangles. I used a tree from the Primitive Gatherings Little Gatherings book. The flying geese are came from Pieces and Press Blog and I reused the paper pieced pattern. The quilting inspiration came from quiltingismytherapy.com’s blog.

IMG_20160619_204337

IMG_20160619_203836

The little guy that you can’t see too well in this photo is a little kitten.He is trying to reach the elephant.

Leave a Reply

