Week of Craziness

I always considered myself a people person. I can chat someone’s ear off and still keep talking. This week I discovered there is a limit to that then I like peace and quiet. This has been a long week off of work. I would call it vacation, but not all of it was fun.

I started with visiting my grandmother in Texas. She is an amazing woman and I wish I knew her whole story. She was born into a Mennonite family and grew up in Fayette, Ohio. The whole time I have known her she has lived in Saginaw, Texas (Fort Worth, Texas). She became my pistil packin’, hot roddin’, deputy sheriff of Saginaw County. It never occurred to me until I was an adult how significant this was. She is an amazing woman.

Unfortunately I scheduled an emergency visit with her and within 2 weeks was on a flight from Michigan to Texas. She is very ill and as she put it when I was leaving “The doctors tell me I won’t live long.” Those are the hardest words I have had to hear. I never lived close to her, but she has a special place in my heart and always has.

I asked her during this visit why I had never seen her quilting. She told me she used to help as a young teenager to hand quilt a section of the quilts they did as a group and she was horrible at it! It made me laugh. She said she stopped as soon as she could. I brought her a quilt that I dedicated to her. She isn’t looking good. She is on hospice care right now.

IMG_20160809_165159063.jpg

After we came back we were still on vacation and not even 12 hours after returning we went to the beach with my husband’s family. It was a beautiful day outside. We got back home that night at 10:30pm. Then the next day I was signed up for Cindy Lohbeck’s class for Six Shade Value Dying at AQS Grand Rapids. I was choking over the $225 I paid, but it was COMPLETELY worth it! I MADE THESE!

IMG_20160814_135919

IMG_20160814_145737295

I have 42 fat quarters. They are beautiful! Now to figure out what the heck to make. I am thinking a New York Beauty! Anyone with any other ideas? I need something special for my first hand dyed fabrics. I HIGHLY recommend her classes! I hope AQS brings her back next year with her new Tweaking Baticking class (or a version thereof).

Finally today I got a day to be alone in my quilt room and not worry about any conversation. Sorry to those I was getting short with. I really didn’t know I could have too much of people. I love you all. Yay to downtime!

Today I caught up on my Aurifil Designer of the Month 2016 blocks.

IMG_20160814_175308

June’s block, this block was designed by Jacquelynne Steves and is called Modern Delft II. I still need to convince myself to try embroidery as the block was originally designed with embroidery. Thank you Jacquelynne for giving us an alternative version.

Then I finished July’s block the day before August’s gets released.

IMG_20160814_163026

I’m not sure how these blocks are going to go together in the end, but oh well. They are all made of random scraps. I have kept no theme. This block is by Wendy Sheppard (one of my favorite bloggers) and it is called Sparkler Block.

That brings us up to today. I am looking forward to things settling down and having some down time after 2 weeks of craziness.

 

4 thoughts on “Week of Craziness

  1. But Amanda, don’t stop now. You need to come to the opening of Circular Abstractions at the Muskegon Museum of Art on Thursday August 25 somewhere between 5:30-8pm. It will be an epic opening. Grab Courtney and make the trip!

Leave a Reply

